<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
  <title>BulbMatch notebook</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/</link>
  <atom:link href="https://getbulbmatch.com/feed.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
  <description>Practical, sourced guides to household replacement light bulbs.</description>
  <language>en-us</language>
  <managingEditor>editor@getbulbmatch.com (BulbMatch editorial desk)</managingEditor>
  <lastBuildDate>Wed, 26 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</lastBuildDate>
  <item>
  <title>Replacing a G9 halogen capsule with LED</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/replace-g9-halogen-with-led/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/replace-g9-halogen-with-led/</guid>
  <description>You can often replace a G9 halogen bulb with LED, but first match voltage, lumens, dimensions, dimming, enclosure rating and fixture requirements.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 26 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A G9 LED can reduce input power and heat at the lamp. The loop pins identify the socket; voltage, output, dimensions, controls, and fixture ratings settle the rest of the replacement. Start with the old G9 lamp and fixture label Switch off power and let the halogen capsule cool completely before handling it. Photograph every marking on the lamp and fixture, including voltage, actual watts, and any model code. A G9 base has two U-shaped wire loops with nominal 9 mm center-to-center spacing and normally pulls straight out; it is not the twist-lock connection used by GU10. The letters and pin spacing identify the connection, not a complete electrical specification. G9 products exist in different markets and operating conditions, so a lamp that physically enters the socket can still have th...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>GU10 beam angles from 15° spot to 60° flood</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-beam-angle-guide/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-beam-angle-guide/</guid>
  <description>Compare 15°, 25°, 36°, 40°, and 60° GU10 beam angles, estimate the pool of light at a given distance, and choose spot or flood coverage.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Tue, 25 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Light distribution guide</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[GU10 names the twist-lock base, not the spread of light. Beam angle determines how widely a spotlight distributes its output across the target surface. GU10 does not have one standard beam angle GU10 identifies a two-pin push-and-turn base with nominal 10 mm spacing. It does not prescribe the reflector shape, voltage, lumens, or beam angle. Two GU10 lamps can fit the same socket yet light the room very differently. Official catalogs show the range. LEDVANCE publishes GU10 PAR16 models with 15°, 36°, and 60° beams. Signify lists Philips GU10 models at 25°, 36°, and 60°. Feit Electric lists current U.S. GU10 reflector models with a 40° beam. These are model-specific examples, not five mandatory categories or a promise that every market sells every angle. What beam angle measures Beam angl...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>E12 bulbs: base size and replacement details</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e12-bulb-base-size-replacement/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e12-bulb-base-size-replacement/</guid>
  <description>An E12 bulb uses a nominal 12 mm candelabra screw base. Learn how to check shape, dimensions, voltage, lumens, dimming, and fixture ratings.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Sun, 23 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb base guide</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[E12 identifies the small screw connection—not the glass shape, brightness, voltage, or every condition the replacement must handle. How to identify an E12 candelabra base Switch off power and let the old bulb cool. E12 is a small Edison screw connection commonly called a candelabra base in North American product listings. The number denotes a nominal 12 mm base diameter. Measure straight across the threaded metal shell, not around its circumference and not across the glass envelope. A printed E12 marking on the lamp, socket, fixture label, or manufacturer specification is better evidence than appearance alone. E14 is only nominally 2 mm wider, so a casual visual comparison can be misleading. Do not force a lamp that binds after the first turn or assume two small screw bases are intercha...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>A19 vs E26: shape and base are different specifications</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-vs-e26-light-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-vs-e26-light-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>A19 identifies a bulb shape; E26 identifies its screw base. Learn what each code means and what else to verify before replacing a bulb.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Fri, 21 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A19 and E26 often appear on the same household bulb, but they describe different parts. One tells you the envelope shape; the other tells you how the lamp connects to the socket. A19 names the bulb shape In the U.S. lamp-naming system, the letter A identifies the familiar rounded A-line envelope used for many general-purpose bulbs. The number is the nominal maximum diameter in eighths of an inch. Nineteen eighths equals 2.375 inches, so an A19 is nominally 2⅜ inches across at its widest point. A19 does not specify the metal or pin connection at the bottom. It also does not establish the bulb's overall length, voltage, brightness, actual power use, color temperature, dimming behavior, or suitability for an enclosed fixture. Two A19 LEDs may share the same shape designation while differin...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>G4 LED replacement: voltage, transformer, fit</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g4-bulb-base-size-voltage-replacement/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g4-bulb-base-size-voltage-replacement/</guid>
  <description>Replacing a G4 bulb? Match 4 mm straight pins, voltage and AC or DC marking, then verify transformer compatibility, dimensions, lumens, and fixture ratings.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Fri, 21 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb base guide</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[G4 identifies two closely spaced straight pins. It does not promise 12 V, a particular capsule size, or compatibility with the fixture's transformer and controls. How to identify a G4 base With power off and the old lamp cool, look for two thin, straight metal pins set very close together. The nominal spacing is 4 mm from the center of one pin to the center of the other. Measure center to center rather than outside edge to outside edge, because pin thickness would otherwise distort the result. G4 is different from G9, which uses two wire loops with nominal 9 mm spacing. It is also different from GU5.3, whose straight pins are farther apart and often appear on MR16 reflectors. Do not spread, bend, trim, or force pins to make a near match enter the socket. Why 12 V is common but not guara...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>G9 bulb voltage, dimensions, and fixture checks</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g9-bulb-base-size-voltage-replacement/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g9-bulb-base-size-voltage-replacement/</guid>
  <description>Replacing a G9 bulb? Confirm 9 mm loop pins, then match voltage, capsule dimensions, lumens, dimming, enclosure, and fixture ratings.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Fri, 21 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb base guide</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A G9 bulb is easy to recognize by its two wire loops, but the base code alone cannot tell you the voltage, capsule size, brightness, or whether an LED will work in the fixture. How to identify a G9 bulb Turn off power and let the old lamp cool before touching it. At the bottom of a G9 capsule, look for two wire contacts bent into narrow U-shaped loops. They do not have the straight needle-like pins of a G4 bulb, and they do not have the widened twist-lock ends of a GU10 base. The 9 in G9 refers to nominal center-to-center spacing in the base system. Measure from the center of one loop to the center of the other, not from the two outside edges. The applicable NEMA lamp-base standard is the dimensional framework; a ruler check is useful for identification, but a legible G9 marking is stro...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>GU10 replacement: voltage, size, beam angle</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-bulb-size-voltage-replacement/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-bulb-size-voltage-replacement/</guid>
  <description>Replacing a GU10 bulb? Confirm the 10 mm twist-lock base, then match voltage, MR16 or PAR16 shape, dimensions, beam angle, dimming, and fixture ratings.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Fri, 21 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb base guide</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[GU10 identifies the push-and-turn connection beneath many compact spotlights. The same code does not determine voltage, reflector diameter, beam angle, brightness, or overall length. How to identify a GU10 base Switch off power and let the lamp cool. A GU10 base has two short, sturdy pins ending in widened heads. The bulb enters the socket and rotates a short distance to lock. The nominal spacing is 10 mm from the center of one pin to the center of the other. Do not identify it from the reflector face alone. GU10 and GU5.3 bases are both commonly attached to MR16-shaped lamps. GU5.3 has two thin straight pins and pushes straight in; GU10 uses widened locking pins and turns. A PAR16 lamp can also use GU10, so the shape code and base code remain separate. GU10 does not guarantee voltage G...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>GU10 vs GU5.3 MR16: look at the pins and voltage</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-vs-gu53-mr16-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/gu10-vs-gu53-mr16-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>Compare GU10 and GU5.3 MR16 bulbs by pin style, voltage, transformer needs, beam angle, dimensions, dimming, and fixture compatibility.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 20 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb bases and compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[MR16 describes the reflector shape. GU10 and GU5.3 describe two different bases, so an MR16 label alone cannot identify the replacement. MR16 is the shape, not the base MR16 names a small mirrored-reflector envelope. The 16 indicates a nominal face diameter of 16 eighths of an inch, or about 2 inches. It does not specify the socket connection. Current manufacturer catalogs include MR16 lamps with both GU10 and GU5.3 bases, which is why shopping for an “MR16 bulb” without the full base code can produce the wrong replacement. The base is visible at the back of the reflector. GU10 uses two short pins with wider ends. Push the lamp into matching keyhole slots and rotate it only as the fixture instructions direct. GU5.3 uses two slender, straight pins with a nominal 5.3 mm center-to-center s...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>A15 LED bulbs: size, bases, and fixture clearance</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a15-led-bulb-guide/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a15-led-bulb-guide/</guid>
  <description>An A15 bulb is nominally 1 7/8 inches wide. Learn how to check its base, voltage, lumens, dimming, enclosure, and location ratings before replacement.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Tue, 18 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Shapes</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[An A15 bulb is about an inch and seven-eighths wide, which is why it fits where an A19 will not. The right LED replacement still depends on the base, voltage, and the fixture’s environment. What makes an A15 different from an A19 A15 is an A-line envelope designation. Under the ANSI/NEMA C78.79 naming system, the number represents the nominal maximum diameter in eighths of an inch. A15 therefore works out to 15/8 inch, or 1.875 inches; A19 works out to 19/8 inch, or 2.375 inches. The nominal difference is one-half inch. Actual product dimensions can vary, so check a drawing or measured clearance when the cover is tight. The shape code describes only the glass or plastic envelope. It does not identify the screw base, voltage, wattage, brightness, dimming support, or whether the lamp can...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>E12 vs E14: a two-millimeter difference that matters</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e12-vs-e14-light-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e12-vs-e14-light-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>Compare E12 and E14 light bulb bases by screw diameter, voltage context, fixture fit, and the checks to make before choosing a replacement.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Tue, 18 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb bases and compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[These small screw bases differ by only 2 millimeters, but that is enough to make them different fittings. The difference is the screw-base diameter The E in E12 and E14 identifies an Edison screw base. The number describes the nominal diameter of the threaded base in millimeters: about 12 mm for E12 and 14 mm for E14. That measurement applies to the connection, not the widest part of the glass or plastic bulb envelope. Two millimeters sounds minor, but it is enough to create a different standardized fitting. An E14 lamp should not enter an E12 holder correctly, and an E12 lamp will not make the intended contact in an E14 holder. Do not force the threads, bend the socket contact, or treat a partly threaded lamp as a successful fit. The base code does not tell you the voltage E12 is commo...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>G4 vs G9 bulbs: straight pins or wire loops</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g4-vs-g9-light-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/g4-vs-g9-light-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>Learn how G4 and G9 bulb bases differ in pin spacing, voltage, shape, and fit, plus the checks to make before installing a replacement.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Mon, 17 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb bases and compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[G4 and G9 capsules may look similar, but their bases, electrical requirements, and fixture applications are different. The physical difference between G4 and G9 A G4 base has two thin, straight pins with a nominal center-to-center spacing of 4 millimeters. A G9 base has two looped wire contacts with a nominal spacing of 9 millimeters. The loop shape is usually the quickest visual clue when the printing on an old capsule is unreadable. These codes identify the base interface, not the entire bulb. Terms such as capsule, T3, and T4 describe the lamp body or shape separately. The supplied manufacturer sample includes G4 LEDs described as capsules, T3, and T4, while several G9 examples use a T4 body. Matching a familiar-looking glass or plastic capsule is therefore not enough. Voltage is a s...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>When an LED bulb can be used in a refrigerator</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/can-you-use-led-bulb-in-refrigerator/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/can-you-use-led-bulb-in-refrigerator/</guid>
  <description>A regular LED may fit a refrigerator socket but still be the wrong bulb. Learn when an appliance LED is safe and when the light needs service.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Sun, 16 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Appliance Bulbs</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[Some refrigerators accept a screw-in appliance LED. Others use a sealed light module, and a household LED that fits the socket may still fail the model’s requirements. The refrigerator model decides whether an LED is acceptable A refrigerator socket is only one part of the match. The replacement also has to suit the model’s light housing, electrical limit, cover, and operating environment. Begin with the complete refrigerator model number and its owner’s manual. If the manual names a particular bulb or service part, that instruction takes priority over a general package claim or a bulb that merely screws in. Official guidance shows why a universal answer would be misleading. GE Appliances says its refrigerators use several arrangements, including 40-watt appliance bulbs, model-tested 60...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>Why a regular LED bulb does not belong in an oven</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/can-you-use-led-bulb-in-oven/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/can-you-use-led-bulb-in-oven/</guid>
  <description>Most ovens need a model-specified appliance or halogen bulb. Learn when an LED is acceptable and how to replace an oven light safely.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Sat, 15 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Appliance Bulbs</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A household LED may fit the socket, but oven heat and model-specific lamp requirements make physical fit an unreliable test. The model manual decides, not the socket A bulb that screws into an oven socket is not automatically suitable for the oven. The lamp sits in a hot appliance cavity, usually behind a protective glass cover, and the oven manufacturer specifies the lamp type the assembly was designed to use. Start with the complete oven model number and its use-and-care manual rather than the old bulb alone. Manufacturer instructions vary. GE Appliances says many models use a 40-watt appliance bulb, while others use a 120/130-volt G6.35 or G9 halogen lamp with a stated maximum wattage. GE also notes that models equipped with LED lights may require service. Whirlpool and Maytag likewi...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>A19 vs A21 bulbs: where the extra width matters</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-vs-a21-led-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-vs-a21-led-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>A19 vs A21: A21 is nominally 0.25 inch wider. Compare actual length, lumens, base, voltage, dimming, enclosure rating, and fixture clearance.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Sizes and Fit</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[An A21 is wider than an A19, but shape alone does not determine brightness, socket fit, electrical compatibility, or safe fixture use. A19 and A21 describe the envelope, not the whole lamp The letter A identifies the familiar rounded household-bulb envelope. Under the U.S. naming convention, the number represents the nominal maximum diameter in eighths of an inch. An A19 is therefore 19 eighths, or 2.375 inches, across; an A21 is 21 eighths, or 2.625 inches. The difference is one-quarter inch in diameter, so an A21 extends about one-eighth inch farther on each side of its centerline. That designation does not specify the bulb’s overall length. LED housings, necks, heat-management structures, and internal drivers vary by model. Even products carrying the same A19 or A21 designation can h...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>BR30, PAR30, and PAR38: size is not the beam</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/br30-par30-par38-shape-beam-angle/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/br30-par30-par38-shape-beam-angle/</guid>
  <description>Learn how BR30, PAR30, and PAR38 size and beam angle affect coverage, intensity, fixture fit, dimming, and outdoor use.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Shapes and Fit</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[The shape sets the approximate diameter and fit. The beam angle tells you where the light will land. What the BR30, PAR30, and PAR38 names tell you The letters identify a bulb-shape family, and the number indicates its approximate maximum diameter in eighths of an inch. BR30 and PAR30 bulbs are therefore nominally 30 eighths, or about 3.75 inches, across. A PAR38 is nominally 38 eighths, or about 4.75 inches—roughly one inch wider. That number does not specify the base, voltage, length, wattage, brightness, or beam angle. Many household examples use a medium E26 screw base and operate at 120 volts, but those are separate specifications that must be checked on the replacement bulb. Beam angle determines where the lumens go Beam angle is the angle between the two directions where luminous...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>Dimmable vs non-dimmable A19 LEDs</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/dimmable-vs-non-dimmable-a19-led/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/dimmable-vs-non-dimmable-a19-led/</guid>
  <description>Use a dimmable A19 LED on a dimmer-controlled circuit and either type on a plain switch—after checking base, voltage, fixture ratings and compatibility.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[Choose by the installed control: a wall dimmer needs a compatible dimmable LED; a plain on/off switch can use either type when every other specification matches. What “dimmable” actually tells you An ordinary A19 LED contains electronic driver circuitry between the household supply and the light-emitting diodes. A bulb labeled dimmable has circuitry intended to keep operating as a compatible dimmer modifies the power waveform. A non-dimmable bulb is designed for normal full-power switching and makes no promise that its driver will respond properly to a dimmer. A dimmable bulb can normally operate at full output on a standard on/off switch, provided its base, voltage, fixture requirements, and other ratings match. The reverse substitution is not equivalent: manufacturers direct users to...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>E26 vs GU24: two bases found on A-shape bulbs</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e26-vs-gu24-a-shape-bulbs/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/e26-vs-gu24-a-shape-bulbs/</guid>
  <description>Learn why E26 and GU24 A-shape bulbs can match in lumens yet use different sockets, and how to check fit, voltage, dimming, and ratings.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A19 describes the bulb’s envelope, while E26 and GU24 identify two physically different ways of connecting it to a fixture. A19 shape and base code answer different questions An A19 bulb has the familiar general-purpose A-shape envelope. That designation describes the visible body of the lamp, not the connector underneath it. Manufacturers therefore list shape and base as separate specifications: an A19 may have an E26 base, a GU24 base, or another connection when such a model is offered. E26 is the medium screw base commonly found in U.S. household lamps and fixtures. It has a threaded metal shell and turns into a corresponding socket. GU24 instead uses two pins and a twist-lock connection. The two systems do not mate directly, even when the bulbs above their bases look almost identica...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>ST19 on a light bulb: shape, size, and what it leaves out</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/st19-edison-bulb-meaning/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/st19-edison-bulb-meaning/</guid>
  <description>ST19 means a straight-tubular Edison-style bulb with a nominal 2 3/8-inch diameter. It does not identify the base, voltage, brightness, or fit.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Shapes and Codes</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[ST19 names the elongated glass envelope and its nominal diameter. The base may be E26, but that must be read separately along with voltage, output, and exact length. What the ST19 code actually describes ST19 describes the bulb envelope—the outer shape usually associated with an elongated, vintage Edison-style bulb. “ST” means straight tubular. In practice, the outline is taller than a familiar pear-shaped household bulb, with relatively straight sides and a taper toward the base. The code does not describe the filament pattern, glass color, light source, or socket. The number belongs to the traditional U.S. eighth-inch sizing system. Nineteen eighths equals 2 3/8 inches, so ST19 identifies a nominal diameter class of about 2.375 inches. Treat that as a naming convention rather than a g...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>2700K, 3000K, or 5000K: choosing a light color</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/2700k-vs-3000k-vs-5000k/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/2700k-vs-3000k-vs-5000k/</guid>
  <description>Compare 2700K, 3000K, and 5000K bulbs by room, appearance, evening use, and fixture fit so you can choose the right light color.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 12 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Light Bulb Buying Guides</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[Choose 2700K for a traditional warm glow, 3000K for a cleaner warm white, or 5000K for crisp, blue-toned task lighting. How the three colors look in a room Correlated color temperature, or CCT, describes the apparent color of white light in kelvins. Lower values look warmer and more yellow; higher values look cooler and bluer. ENERGY STAR places 2700K and 3000K at the warm end of the scale and describes 5000K as a bluer white. The scale may feel backward at first: a higher number means cooler-looking light, not more heat or brightness. The three choices serve noticeably different purposes. The U.S. Department of Energy characterizes 2700K as friendly and personal, with homes among its typical applications, while 3000K is warm and pleasing. A 5000K bulb is much farther toward the cool en...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>How many watts an A19 LED actually uses</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-led-bulb-watts/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/a19-led-bulb-watts/</guid>
  <description>See how many watts A19 LEDs use for 40W, 60W, 75W, and 100W replacements, with lumen targets and fixture-fit checks.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 12 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Wattage and Compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[Most household A19 LEDs draw about 5–18 watts, but lumens—not replacement wattage—tell you how much light you will get. Typical input watts by replacement class The U.S. Department of Energy’s comparison for general-purpose A-type LED bulbs with E26 bases places the full 40W-to-100W replacement range at approximately 4.5–18 watts. The familiar 40W, 60W, 75W, and 100W descriptions refer to incandescent-equivalent light output; they are not the electricity drawn by the LED. Current manufacturer specifications illustrate why a range is more accurate than a single conversion. In the limited official catalog sample reviewed here, Philips A19 lamps span 5 watts at 450 lumens through 14 watts at 1,500 lumens. A Feit Electric adjustable-output A19 uses 5, 8.8, 12.2, or 16 watts at its four brig...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>LED bulbs in enclosed fixtures: read the rating first</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/led-bulb-enclosed-fixture/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/led-bulb-enclosed-fixture/</guid>
  <description>Yes—if the LED is rated for enclosed fixtures and matches the fixture’s base, voltage, wattage, controls, and available clearance.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 12 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb Compatibility</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[An LED can work well behind a globe or lens, but enclosure approval is a separate requirement from socket fit, wattage, and dimmer compatibility. Why the enclosure rating matters LED bulbs produce less waste heat than comparable incandescent bulbs, but they are not heat-free. Their LED chips and electronic driver still generate heat, which must move through the bulb and into the surrounding air. A fully enclosed fixture slows that heat transfer. The U.S. Department of Energy explains that enclosed fixtures trap heat and can affect an LED’s performance and life expectancy. ENERGY STAR likewise notes that LEDs use thermal management—often a heat sink—to move heat away from the light source. A bulb designed and tested for an enclosure accounts for this more demanding operating environment....]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>How to read the letters and numbers on a light bulb</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/light-bulb-letters-numbers/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/light-bulb-letters-numbers/</guid>
  <description>Decode A19, E26, watts, lumens, volts, Kelvin, CRI, dimming, and enclosure markings before choosing a replacement bulb.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 12 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Bulb identification</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[A field-by-field guide to reading household bulb markings without confusing physical fit, electrical ratings, and operating restrictions. Treat the printing as several separate fields Read each group of characters as a separate field. In a string such as “9A19/LED/927/FR/P/E26/DIM,” 9 may be the actual wattage, A19 the bulb envelope, 927 a compact color code, FR the finish, P the material, E26 the base, and DIM the dimming designation. That example follows a Philips-style product-number system; another manufacturer may arrange or abbreviate the same facts differently. Printing also varies by product. Under the FTC Energy Labeling Rule, covered general-service lamps must carry their initial lumen output on the bulb itself, while most of the familiar Lighting Facts information appears on...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
<item>
  <title>Why LED bulbs flicker and how to narrow down the cause</title>
  <link>https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/why-led-light-bulbs-flicker/</link>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">https://getbulbmatch.com/articles/why-led-light-bulbs-flicker/</guid>
  <description>Learn why LED bulbs flicker and use a safe, step-by-step process to separate bulb, dimmer, fixture, wiring, and utility causes.</description>
  <dc:creator><![CDATA[BulbMatch editorial desk]]></dc:creator>
  <pubDate>Wed, 12 Aug 2026 12:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
  <category>Light Bulb Troubleshooting</category>
  <content:encoded><![CDATA[Note when the flicker occurs, then swap one known-good bulb under controlled conditions. That simple comparison often separates the lamp from the dimmer, socket, heat, or supply. What is actually flickering inside an LED bulb? An LED does not connect directly to household alternating current. Electronics in the bulb’s base, collectively called the driver, convert and regulate the power supplied to the LEDs. Because LEDs respond rapidly to changes in current, variation produced by the driver, a dimmer, or the incoming supply can appear directly as changing light output. Some modulation is plainly visible as pulsing or flashing. Faster modulation may instead make moving hands, fan blades, or shiny objects appear broken into repeated positions. A phone camera may show moving dark bands eve...]]></content:encoded>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>